Mike Tucker is Florida’s Fire Chief of the Year

Chief Mike Tucker
Chief Mike Tucker receives Florida's “Fire Chief of the Year” recognition

Congratulations to The Villages Fire Chief Mike Tucker, who received the 2011 Florida Fire Chief of the Year award recognition at the recent Florida Fire Chief’s Conference in Marco Island.

[Click here to read The Villages Daily Sun article]

This is the second time a Lake-Sumter Fire Chief’s Association member has won this award. Chief Bill Gulbrandsen won the award in 2007.

LSFCA greets Lake County Manager Darren Gray

Chief Bishop greets Darrin Gray

Chief Carle Bishop greets Lake County Manager, Darren Gray at the Lake-Sumter Fire Chiefs’ Association monthly meeting on February 16, 2011.

Darren Gray began working for Lake County in November 2010 as the Deputy County Manager, and became County Manager in January 2011. Prior to working for Lake County, Gray served as Assistant City Manager for the City of Clermont.

Eustis Fire Lt. Benway retires

Lt. Jeffrey BenwayRetiring City of Eustis Fire Lieutenant Jeffrey Benway will be honored for his 29 years of service on Sunday, 3 April 2011 at 4:00pm at Eustis Fire Station 22 – 100 W Norton Avenue. Please RSVP to Tim Totten at 352.357.6585 x.3003

The “After Party” will be at Gator’s Dockside on US Hwy 441 from 5:30pm on.